Before starting your new business as a contractor it’s essential to get familiar with the local and state requirements in Oregon to start your company successfully. To do that, I have researched and gathered all the needed information about licensure, state-specific requirements for contractors in Oregon, how to find out whether an individual or business is licensed or not, and much more.
The contractor’s licensing regulation in Oregon is handled by the Construction Contractors Board (CCB). The Board states “any contractor who works for compensation in any construction activity involving home improvements to real property needs a license”. Consider obtaining a contractor’s license if you perform one of the following mentioned works:
According to the laws of CCB, there are also certain specialties that won’t necessarily require licensing. Among such works are:
In a nutshell, unless you’re carrying out the above-mentioned works, all other types of construction or home improvement projects will require an Oregon contractor’s license.
As you can see the state of Oregon has very strict rules about performing any type of construction project. The process of licensing can seem both overwhelming and confusing. That’s why we will break down the key steps of obtaining a contractor license in the state and discuss each process of licensure separately.
Based on the scope of your work the CCB offers 3 types of contractor’s licenses (endorsements) that are listed below:
Remember that by picking the type of contractor’s license according to the scope of your work you also determine the bond and insurance requirements. If you select the dual contractor’s license, you have to purchase two separate bonds and one higher liability insurance.
Before applying for your Oregon contractor’s license, make sure you meet the following basic requirements of licensure:
As soon as take the pre-licensing training you can now take the CCB license examination by scheduling the exam date with PSI. It’s an open-book examination that involves 80 multiple choice questions about business practice and law. You will have 3 hours to pass the CCB exam and you should score at least 70% accuracy. You can register PSI online and pay $60 which is the cost of the open-book examination.
Once you successfully pass your CCB exam you need to collect the materials before your contractor’s license application. The following steps should be taken to be eligible for the licensure in Oregon:
You are almost there. Once you collect all the needed materials you will be able to apply for your contractor’s license. To do so, first print the application form of your desired contractor type and fill out the form:
The completed application form, the required paperwork along with the non-refundable fee of $250 should be sent to:
PO Box 14140
Salem, Oregon 97309-5052
To identify the licensed contractors in Oregon who perform any type of construction project you can use the CCB contractor license search
You can look up qualified general contractors in Oregon by utilizing the CCB contractor search tool. To verify the licensed contractor, the best is to enter the CCB license number. The alternative ways of identifying the qualified contractor include: searching the business name, or contractor’s last name, or entering the business telephone number in some cases.